slider

#ASKHERMORE

Our #AskHerMore campaign inspires people to call out sexist reporting and suggest ways to re-focus on women’s achievements.

With champions like Reese Witherspoon, Shonda Rhimes, Gloria Steinem, Maria Shriver, Lisa Ling, and Sandra Fluke and coverage by major media outlets like Entertainment Tonight and The New York Times, we’re engaging millions on social media and making a difference on the red carpet and beyond.

#ASKHERMORE AT THE OLYMPICS

From the red carpet to the convention floor to the Olympic podium, wherever a woman goes, she’s all too likely to hear comments about her appearance. The media reinforces and perpetuates this pattern by describing women athletes more often by their marital status, emotional composure, and outfit than by their accomplishments.

With the 2016 Olympics starting this week and featuring the highest rate of women’s participation ever, it’s time to change this limiting narrative. Let’s make these games different!

 

 

 

Olympics Live Tweeting Guide:

Join us to live tweet the 2016 Summer Olympics and #AskHerMore. Together, we’ll change the media’s narrative about women in sports and our larger culture.

For pre-fab #AskHerMore tweets, click on the names of athletes and reporters below. Mix and match from the two columns to create your own custom tweets. And feel free to draft your own suggested questions, comments and feedback – just don’t forget the #AskHerMore hashtag!

Women’s US Olympic Swim Team

Cammile Adams, @CammileAdams
Haley Anderson, @SwimHaley
Kathleen Baker, @KathleenBaker
Elizabeth Beisel, @ebeisel34
Maya DiRado, @MayaDiRado
Hali Flickinger, @Hali_Flickinger
Missy Franklin, @missyfranklin
Molly Hannis, @MollyHannis
Lily King, @_king_lil
Katie Ledecky, @katieledecky
Simone Manuel, @simone_manuel
Melanie Margalis, @melmargalis
Katie Meili, @katie_meili
Lia Neal, @LiaNeal
Cierra Runge, @CierraRunge
Allison Schmitt @arschmitty
Leah Smith, @lgsmith16
Olivia Smoliga, @OliviaSmoliga
Amanda Weir, @AmandaJoWeir
Abbey Weitzeil, @AbbeyWeitzeil
Kelsi Worrel, @kelsiwhirl

Women’s US Olympic Tennis Team

Madison Keys, @Madison_Keys
Bethanie MattekSands, @BMATTEK
Sloane Stephens, @SloaneStephens
CoCo Vandwegehe, @CoCoVandey
Venus Williams, @Venuseswilliams
Serena Williams, @serenawilliams

Women’s US Olympic Gymnastics Team

Simone Biles, @Simone_Biles
Gabby Douglass, @gabrielledoug
Brenna Dowell, @brennadowell
Madison Kocian, @MadisonKocian
Maggie Nichols, @MagsGotSwag
Alexandra Raisman, @Aly_Raisman
MyKayla Skinner, @MSkinner2016

NBC Olympic Reporters

Jim Bell, @jfb
Ato Bolden, @AtoBolden
Jac Collinsworth, @JacCollinsworth
Bob Costas
Pat Croce, @Pat_croce
Dalen Cuff, @DalenCUff
Tim Daggett, @timdadggettnbc
Alex Flanagan, @Alex_flanagan
Lewis Johnson, @LewisJohnson
Andrea Joyce, @andijoyce
Trenni Kusnierek, @trenni
Rebecca Lowe
Carolyn Manno, @carolynmanno
Jill Martin, @JillMartin
John McEnroe
Liam McHugh, @liam_mchugh
Craig Melvin, @craigmelvin
Al Michaels
Apolo Ohno, @ApoloOhno
Dan Patrick, @dpshow
Samantha Peszek, @samanthapeszek
Fred Roggin, @FredNBCLA
Gadi Schwartz, @GadiNBC
Ryan Seacrest, @RyanSeacrest
Rob Simmeikjaer, @RobSimmelkjaer
Michele Tafoya, @Michele_Tafoya
Anne Thompson, @annenbcnews
Rutledge Wood, @RutledgeWood

General Olympic Reporters

Sebastian Salazar, @SebiSalazarCSN
Ahmed Fareed, @AhmedFareedCSN
Liz Clarke, @lizclarketweet
Elspeth Reeve, @elspethreeve
Louise Radnofsky, @louiseradnofsky
Matthew Futterman, @MattFutterman
Sara Germano, @germanotes

Serena_Williams

RESOURCES

IMPACT

.

Clinton Wins Primary, Male Pundits Tell Her To Smile

When Former Secretary of State and Presidential Candidate Hillary Clinton won primary elections in Ohio, Florida, North Carolina, Missouri, and Illinois, male pundits took to Twitter to critique Clinton's tone and appearance. Take for example, Joe Scarborough, host of Morning Joe on MSNBC, who tweeted that Clinton should "smile." This is exactly the kind of sexism we challenge with the #AskHerMore campaign. Learn more via Jennifer Siebel Newsom's statement.

.

2016 Oscars

At the 88th Academy Awards, we inspired viewers, reporters, and performers to challenge and overcome limiting stereotypes. From the red carpet, to Chris Rock's #AskHerMore mention in the opening monologue, together we're sparking meaningful dialogue and change.

.

Democratic Debate: October 14, 2015

We expanded the #AskHerMore campaign to the Presidential election, starting with October 14th's Democratic Debate. Joined by millions worldwide, we called out sexist reporting and suggested ways to re-focus on women’s achievements using the hashtag #AskHerMore.

.

2015 Emmys

With the hashtags #AskHerMore and #SmartsGirlsAsk, we ignited a global conversation at the 67th Emmy Awards. Starting by sharing the viral video "Connie Britton's Hair Secret", you helped bring gender equity to the red carpet!

.

2015 Oscars

For the 2nd Annual #AskHerMore Oscars campaign, The Representation Project partnered with Amy Poehler's Smart Girls to encourage and celebrate reporters who asked about more than appearance on the red carpet. Together we reached 25M+ people worldwide and changed red carpet culture.

.

2014 Emmys

At the 66th Emmy Awards, The Representation Project encouraged red carpet reporters to go beyond appearance and ask about the achievements of women in Hollywood with the hashtag #AskHerMore - igniting an international conversation around gender equality.

OP-EDS

.

Op-Ed: #AskHerMore Worked on the Red Carpet. It Can Work for Presidential Candidates, Too.

The Representation Project Founder and CEO Jennifer Siebel Newsom, Jamia Wilson, and Lindsey Taylor Wood discuss why it's critical we #AskHerMore during the Presidential election in this op-ed on mic.com.

.

REESE WITHERSPOON'S PUSH TO #ASKHERMORE AT THE OSCARS WAS A RUNAWAY SUCCESS

The Representation Project Founder and CEO Jennifer Siebel Newsom recaps the Oscars red carpet and discusses why #AskHerMore is so important in this op-ed on ETOnline.com.

.

WE MUST #ASKHERMORE ON THE RED CARPET

Thanks to Jennifer Siebel Newsom's piece in The Daily Beast, this op-ed launched a movement. Read why she started #AskHerMore and how you can get involved.

VIDEOS