slider

#ASKHERMORE

Our #AskHerMore campaign inspires people to call out sexist reporting and suggest ways to re-focus on women’s achievements.

With champions like Reese Witherspoon, Shonda Rhimes, Gloria Steinem, Maria Shriver, Lisa Ling, and Sandra Fluke and coverage by major media outlets like Entertainment Tonight and The New York Times, we’re engaging millions on social media and making a difference on the red carpet and beyond.

#ASKHERMORE AT THE 68TH EMMY AWARDS

For the past two years, we have asked red carpet reporters to go beyond appearance and #AskHerMore. After all, awards shows have historically been one of the places where the media sends the message that a woman’s value lies solely in her youth, beauty, and sexuality – no matter what else she has accomplished.

Thanks to you, we’ve disrupted that narrative. But Hollywood still has a long way to go. Last week, for example, a study reaffirmed that female actors are much more likely to be nude on screen and they are less likely to speak than their male counterparts. The idea that women should be “seen but not heard” is unacceptable and sexist. Please join us this Sunday for the 68th Primetime Emmy Awards and help us push back against challenge these damaging narratives.

violadavis
 

To get you started, below you’ll find our handy guide of pre-fabbed #AskHerMore tweets and join us this Sunday at 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT for red carpet coverage. Together, we’ll continue to encourage and celebrate reporters who value women and girls for more than their appearance and who celebrate women’s full humanity.

 

Emmys Live Tweeting Guide:

Join us and watch E!’s live from the red carpet at 6:00 ET / 3:00 PT and ABC’s at 7:00 ET / 4:00 PT.

For pre-fabbed #AskHerMore tweets, click on the names of actresses, presenters, and reporters below. Mix and match from the two columns to create your own custom tweets. And feel free to draft your own suggested questions, comments, and feedback – just don’t forget the #AskHerMore hashtag!

Women of Hollywood

Adele, @Adele
Alison Wright, @alison__wright
Allison Janney, @AllisonBJanney
Amanda Abbington, @CHIMPSINSOCKS
Amanda Crew, @AmandaCCrew
Amy Landecker, @transparent_tv
Amy Schumer, @amyschumer
Ana Gasteyer, @AnaGasteyer
Anna Chlumsky, @AnnaChlumsky
Ariel Winter, @arielwinter1
Audra McDonald, @AudraEqualityMc
Beyoncé Knowles, @Beyonce
Carly Chaikin, @carlychaikin
Carly Rae Jepsen, @carlyraejepsen
Carol Kane
Carrie Brownstein, @Carrie_Rachel
Carrie Preston, @carriepreston
Claire Danes
Constance Zimmer, @ConstanceZimmer
Courtney B. Vance, @CourtneyBVance
Elizabeth McGovern, @ElizabethMcGov
Ellie Kemper
Emayatzy Corinealdi, @Emayatzy
Emilia Clarke, @emiliaclarke
Erika Christensen, @ERIKAjaneC
Felicity Huffman, @FelicityHuffman
Alicia Vikander, @gabymhoffmann
Gloria Steinem, @GloriaSteinem
Grace Gummer, @gracegummer
Heidi Klum, @heidiklum
Holly Taylor, @HollyTaylor97
Jane Krakowski
Jane Lynch, @janemarielynch
Jenifer Lewis, @JeniferLewis
Jessie J, @JessieJ
Joanne Froggatt, @JoFroggatt
Judith Light, @JudithLight
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, @OfficialJLD
Julianne Hough, @juliannehough
Julie Bowen, @itsJulieBowen
Julie White, @JulieWhiteNews
Kate McKinnon
Kathy Bates, @MsKathyBates
Keke Palmer, @KekePalmer
Keri Russell
Kerry Washington, @kerrywashington

Kether Donohue, @MsKetherDonohue
Kimberly Elise, @iKimberlyElise
Kirsten Dunst, @kirstendunst
Kristin Chenoweth, @KChenoweth
Laura Carmichael, @Carmichelle
Laverne Cox, @Lavernecox
Lena Headey, @IAMLenaHeadey
Lena Waithe, @hillmangrad
Lesley Nicol, @lesley_nicol
Lili Taylor, @lilitaylor
Lily Tomlin, @LilyTomlin
Louise Brealey, @louisebrealey
Maggie Smith
Maisie Williams, @Maisie_Williams
Marsai Martin, @cailamarsai
Maura Tierney
Maya Rudolph, @MayaRudolph
Melissa Leo, @MelissaLeo
Melissa McCarthy, @melissamccarthy
Melora Hardin, @MeloraHardin
Michelle Dockery
Molly Parker, @TheMollyParker
Natasha O’Keeffe, @MousseTash
Niecy Nash, @NiecyNash
Noël Wells, @RealTomHankz
Olivia Colman
Penelope Wilton
Phyllis Logan
Portia Doubleday, @PortiaDd
Rashida Jones, @iamrashidajones
Regina King, @ReginaKing
Rhea Seehorn, @rheaseehorn
Robin Wright, @RealRobinWright
Sarah Hyland, @Sarah_Hyland
Sarah Paulson, @MsSarahPaulson
Sofía Vergara, @SofiaVergara
Sophie McShera
Sophie Turner, @SophieT
Stephanie Corneliussen, @stephcorneliuss
Sufe Bradshaw
Taraji P. Henson, @TherealTaraji
Tatiana Maslany, @tatianamaslany
Tracee Ellis Ross, @TraceeEllisRoss
Vanessa Hudgens, @VanessaHudgens
Viola Davis, @violadavis
Yara Shahidi, @YaraShahidi
Zoe Lister-Jones, @ZoeListerJones

 

ABC Red Carpet Reporters

Chris Harrison, @chrisbharrison
George Pennacchio, @abc7george
Lara Spencer, @LaraSpencer

E! Red Carpet Reporters

Giuliana Rancic, @GiulianaRancic
Jason Kennedy, @JasonKennedy1
Ross Mathews, @helloross
Zuri Hall, @ZuriHall

 

#ASKHERMORE AT THE OLYMPICS

From the red carpet to the convention floor to the Olympic podium, wherever a woman goes, she’s all too likely to hear comments about her appearance. The media reinforces and perpetuates this pattern by describing women athletes more often by their marital status, emotional composure, and outfit than by their accomplishments.

UPDATE: Thank you for joining us to #AskHerMore at the #Olympics! Together, we took on sexist media and won. Check out some of our favorite moments from the campaign here.

 

 

 

 

RESOURCES

IMPACT

.

#AskHerMore At The Olympics

This Olympics, the #AskHerMore campaign held media outlets accountable for focusing too much on women's marital status, emotional composure, and outfits as compared to their talents and accomplishments. Together, we ignited a global conversation

.

Clinton Wins Primary, Male Pundits Tell Her To Smile

When Former Secretary of State and Presidential Candidate Hillary Clinton won primary elections in Ohio, Florida, North Carolina, Missouri, and Illinois, male pundits took to Twitter to critique Clinton's tone and appearance. Take for example, Joe Scarborough, host of Morning Joe on MSNBC, who tweeted that Clinton should "smile." This is exactly the kind of sexism we challenge with the #AskHerMore campaign. Learn more via Jennifer Siebel Newsom's statement.

.

2016 Oscars

At the 88th Academy Awards, we inspired viewers, reporters, and performers to challenge and overcome limiting stereotypes. From the red carpet, to Chris Rock's #AskHerMore mention in the opening monologue, together we're sparking meaningful dialogue and change.

.

Democratic Debate: October 14, 2015

We expanded the #AskHerMore campaign to the Presidential election, starting with October 14th's Democratic Debate. Joined by millions worldwide, we called out sexist reporting and suggested ways to re-focus on women’s achievements using the hashtag #AskHerMore.

.

2015 Emmys

With the hashtags #AskHerMore and #SmartsGirlsAsk, we ignited a global conversation at the 67th Emmy Awards. Starting by sharing the viral video "Connie Britton's Hair Secret", you helped bring gender equity to the red carpet!

.

2015 Oscars

For the 2nd Annual #AskHerMore Oscars campaign, The Representation Project partnered with Amy Poehler's Smart Girls to encourage and celebrate reporters who asked about more than appearance on the red carpet. Together we reached 25M+ people worldwide and changed red carpet culture.

.

2014 Emmys

At the 66th Emmy Awards, The Representation Project encouraged red carpet reporters to go beyond appearance and ask about the achievements of women in Hollywood with the hashtag #AskHerMore - igniting an international conversation around gender equality.

OP-EDS

.

Op-Ed: #AskHerMore Worked on the Red Carpet. It Can Work for Presidential Candidates, Too.

The Representation Project Founder and CEO Jennifer Siebel Newsom, Jamia Wilson, and Lindsey Taylor Wood discuss why it's critical we #AskHerMore during the Presidential election in this op-ed on mic.com.

.

REESE WITHERSPOON'S PUSH TO #ASKHERMORE AT THE OSCARS WAS A RUNAWAY SUCCESS

The Representation Project Founder and CEO Jennifer Siebel Newsom recaps the Oscars red carpet and discusses why #AskHerMore is so important in this op-ed on ETOnline.com.

.

WE MUST #ASKHERMORE ON THE RED CARPET

Thanks to Jennifer Siebel Newsom's piece in The Daily Beast, this op-ed launched a movement. Read why she started #AskHerMore and how you can get involved.

VIDEOS