Blog

Ask Serena Williams and Gabby Douglas More at the Olympics

From the red carpet to the convention floor to the Olympic podium, wherever a woman goes, she’s all too likely to hear comments about her appearance. The media reinforces and perpetuates this pattern by describing women athletes more often by their marital status, emotional composure, and outfit than by their accomplishments.

With the 2016 Olympics starting this week and featuring the highest rate of women’s participation ever, it’s time to change this limiting narrative. Let’s make these summer games different by live tweeting the broadcast with #AskHerMore.

We’ve looked up the athletes and reporters and drafted sample tweets to get you started – so all you need to do is tune into NBC and watch the following events with us:

  • August 8th, 2016 at 6 pm PT / 9 pm ET: Women’s Swimming 100m Backstroke
  • August 14th, 2016 at 8 am PT / 11 am ET: Women’s Tennis Doubles Gold Medal Match
  • August 16th, 2016 at 10 am PT / 1 pm ET: Women’s Gymnastics Floor Finals

Together, let’s change the narrative about women in sports and our larger culture.

Onwards,

Jennifer Siebel Newsom & The Representation Project Team


You are Invited to the Youth Summit

Are you between the ages of 14 and 21? Are you passionate about challenging toxic norms and stereotypes? Do you want to be a leader that can empower yourself and others?The Representation Project is hosting a Global Youth Leadership Summit on August 6th in San Francisco, and we want you to be there!
Global Youth Summit
With the theme of “Disrupt the Narrative,” the Summit is bringing together youth leaders to discuss how we can create positive change in our communities. If you would like to attend, please fill out this form.

Already attending? Post with #DisruptTheNarrative to spread the excitement!


 

Representation Around the Web

“Last night, Hillary Rodham Clinton made American history by becoming the first woman nominated by a major political party for president of the United States. In celebration and recognition of this great achievement, major newspapers around the world splashed their front pages with big banner headlines—and then placed a giant photo of her husband underneath.” – Fusion

  • The Daily Beast,: Matt Damon Whitewashes Chinese History in The Great Wall
  • The Huffington Post: To Prevent Terrorism, We Need to Challenge Male Violence
  • The Independent: It’s Not Muslims or People with Mental Health Problems Who Are Most Likely to Kill You in a Terrorist Attack—It’s Men
  • The New York Times: Michelle Obama’s Dress May Have Looked Simple, but It Spoke Volumes
  • Quartz: Hillary Clinton’s Husband Wore a Fetching Pantsuit to Honor Her Nomination for US President
  • Raw Story: Prominent Feminist Writer Drops Off Social Media After Rape Threat Against Her Five-Year-Old Daughter

First Lady Michelle Obama at the Democratic National Convention.
Image via The Representation Project Instagram